Separating The Elite From The Tournament Angler

Crappie tournaments are fun and exciting for many Anglers who fish them. Winning one of these tournaments, at any level, comes with hard work and dedication. Winning on a National level once in any year is a great accomplishment. But, winning multiple times in one year…

That is exactly what Crappie Crazy Pro Staffer Ron Bilbrey and tournament partner Tom Hankins have done. Ron and Tom have won two Crappie USA Tournaments this year and have added a 3rd place finish to their accomplishments.

This past weekend the Crappie USA Tournament Trail held an event at Mississinewa & Salamonie Lakes at Wabash, Indiana. Ron and Tom came to the scales with 10.61 lbs to beat the 2nd place team by almost 2 lbs. The team fished Mississinewa Lake in 7 to 11 feet of water over brush using Crazy
crappie-usa-tournament-elite-anglers-2Angler and Lake Fork Softbaits to catch 40 fish for the day. Ron and Tom also had the 2nd Place Big Fish of the event weighing in at 2.02 pounds.
Ron explained, “It was a slow bite and color specific for our baits. Dark green with a chartreuse jighead and then changed from chartreuse to copper with cloud cover.” They slow trolled “spider-rigged” at .4-.6 mph.

crappie-usa-indiana-1st-placeIn addition to the Mississinewa win, the team took 1st place at the Lake of Egypt, Illinois tournament and finished in 3rd at the Cave Run, Kentucky tournament.

Much of their success comes from years of knowledge and dedication in pre-fishing for each tournament. It’s important to note that each of these Anglers have won events and Classic events at local and state levels fishing with the Indiana Slab Masters. Not many Anglers can stand out above other tournament competitors and win with consistency. Ron and Tom have. In the world of tournament fishing Ron and Tom have proven to be among the Elite!





Results from Crappie USA Mississinewa & Salamonie Lakes at Wabash, Indiana:

Pro Division
Rank Name Hometown Weight Winnings
1 Hankins, Thomas
Bilbrey, Ron
Indianapolis, IN
Anderson, IN
10.61 —–
2 Millsaps, Eric
Hancock, Rick
Arcadia, IN
Edinburgh, IN
8.83 —–
3 Bowser, David
Morrison, Mike
Marion, IN
Muncie, IN
8.68 —–
4 Fishbaugh, Zack
Fishbaugh, Mike
St Henry, OH
St Henry, OH
7.94 —–
5 Bledsoe, Michael
Sikora, Doug
Noblesville, IN
Noblesville, IN
7.82 —–
6 Justice, Brian
Reed, Allen
Warren, IN
Gas City, IN
7.76 —–
7 Thomas, Dallas
Caldwell, Greg
Elwood, IN
Noblesville, IN
7.48 —–
8 Miller, Dan
MeKeighen, Jeff
Galveston, IN
Losantville, IN
7.10 —–
9 Shingler, Jason
Arnold, Michael
Lafayette, IN
Lafayette, IN
6.87 —–
10 Williams, William T.
Williams, William
Kokomo, IN
Kokomo, IN
6.64 —–
11 Thompson, Noel
Riley, Chester JR
Gary, IN
Indianapolis, IN
6.47 —–
12 Raymer, Bob
Moore, Walter
Greenfield, IN
French Lick, IN
5.92 —–
13 Yates, Larry Cincinnati, OH 5.07 —–

View the complete Tournament Results

Comments are closed.

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On InstagramVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On Google Plus